Uncategorized

Getting “Regular” Sick While Chronically Ill

I have been battling Flu Type A (even though I got my vaccine months ago), and subsequent bronchitis for the last few weeks, all while having a flare up of my autoimmune disease. Normally, I  would have had my Remicade infusion last week, and be recovering now, but since Remicade (infliximab) is used to  suppress my immune system, on top of the Imuran (azathioprine) I take daily, I had to wait (doctor’s orders) until I was recovered. 

Not having my chemotherapy infusion on time means I am typing this slowly, and painfully with one, swollen, puffy jointed index finger. My face, and skin have open ulcers, every joint in my body is painfully inflamed, I’ve got brain fog (thankful for the update button every time my mind is chasing rabbits), and my GI system is in one of the lower levels of hell. It’s only “just begun,” so I am really glad (Sick, huh?) that my infusion is today. In fact, I really wish it was this morning, it will be about 6 hours before my IV drip starts, or even later, as the pharmacy gets backed up in the afternoon, and my IV bag can’t be mixed (@ 40K +/- per dose) until I am checked in (as it is made based upon mg, per kg of body weight, which fluctuates).

I really feel like those of us who suffer from a chronic illness should get a free pass when it comes to regular illnesses! Trust me, after the last few weeks, I know that’s impossible, no matter how many hospital protocols my family follows. It just seems remarkably unfair. 

Does anyone who has a chronic illness get where I am coming from? 

Have you battled common illnesses while on immune suppression? What helped? 

Leave a Reply

